Maryland Manual On-Line -



[photo, Life Sciences Building, Liberty Heights Campus, Baltimore City Community College, 2901 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, Maryland] Baltimore City Community College is an institution of higher education of the State of Maryland (Code Education Article, sec. 16-503). In 1947, the College originated when Baltimore Junior College was established as a two-year school to provide higher education for returning veterans of World War II.

Life Sciences Building, Liberty Heights Campus, Baltimore City Community College, 2901 Liberty Heights Ave., Baltimore, Maryland, 2012. Photo by William Fleming, courtesy of Baltimore City Community College.

The College reformed to become the Community College of Baltimore in 1968. As the New Community College of Baltimore, it became a State institution of higher education in 1990 (Chapter 220, Acts of 1990). The school received its present name in 1992 (Chapter 208, Acts of 1992; Code Education Article, secs. 16-501 through 16-512).

Baltimore City Community College offers 30 associate degree and 14 certificate programs. These cover arts and sciences, and general studies; business, information, and office technologies; allied health; biological, computer, and engineering sciences; human services; criminal justice and public safety; legal assistant; and teacher preparation. In addition to career and transfer programs, the College offers noncredit programs in basic adult literacy, Maryland General Education Development (G.E.D.) test preparation, English as a second language, and citizenship test preparation. The College contracts with businesses, health-care providers, and government agencies to provide credit and noncredit training in health care, child care, information technology, real estate, and business.

The College centers at three main campuses: the Liberty Heights Campus; the Harbor Campus (East Lombard St.); and the Reisterstown Campus (Reisterstown Plaza Center). It also extends to over 80 off-campus sites throughout Baltimore. Annually, the College serves more than 22,000 credit and noncredit students.


The College is governed by the Board of Trustees. Appointed by the Governor with Senate advice and consent, the Board consists of nine members. Eight serve six-year terms; a student member serves a one-year term (Code Education Article, secs. 16-504, 16-505).


Appointed by the Board of Trustees, the President of the College is responsible and accountable to the Board of Trustees for the discipline and successful conduct of the College and supervision of each of its departments (Code Education Article, sec. 16-506).

The President directs the work of the College through five main divisions: Academic Affairs; Business and Continuing Education; Business and Finance; Institutional Advancement, Marketing and Research; and Student Affairs.

The Academic Affairs Division originated as Academic Affiars, was renamed the Learning Division in 2003, and reformed as the Academic Affairs Division in 2005.

Under the Division are Academic Services and three Schools: Allied Health and Nursing; Arts and Social Sciences; and Business, Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

In 2008, Academic Services formed as the Academic Support and Learning Resources Division. Under its present name, it transferred to the Academic Affairs Division in 2012.

Academic Services is responsible for the Center for Academic Achievement and two units: E-Learning, and Library Services.

The Business and Continuing Education Division offers adult basic education and General Education Development (GED), English as a Second Language, and alternative high school diploma programs. Courses (frequently shorter in length than credit offerings) provide adult learners with flexible class arrangements, and require fewer prerequisites. The Division also works with businesses, government agencies, and other institutions to provide training, apprenticeships, workforce development services, and other customized programs.

The Institutional Advancement, Marketing and Research Division began as the Institutional Advancement Branch. Renamed Communications and Research Division in 2008, it reformed under its present name in 2009.

Six offices are overseen by the Division: Community and Media Relations; External and Alumni Relations; Grants Development; Institutional Research and Planning; and Marketing Communications. The Division also is responsible for the Baltimore City Community College Foundation.

The Student Affairs Division oversees Enrollment Management and Student Development.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2013

August 8, 2013

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright August 01, 2013 Maryland State Archives